Do You Roll Again for Flurry of Blows
Thread: Flurry of Blows
-
2017-11-03,09:01 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #1
Ettin in the Playground
Flurry of Blows
In another thread, I realized I don't know how flurry of blows works.
At first glance, it seems similar to shield master. Take the attack action and you can use the bonus action. With shield master, as long as you take the attack action, you can take the bonus before, during, or after your attack(s).
The wording of flurry is different. And the only sage advice I've found talking about it says exactly that. From Crawford: Flurry of Blows happens "immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn" (PH, 78).
So, what does that mean?
It could mean you have to complete the action and then you may flurry after your attacks.
It could mean you have to take the action, but must immediately flurry when you do. In that case, flurry would be the first two attacks you made that round, and you wouldn't be able to move between them because of the word "immediately." Or maybe you would be able to move, but wouldn't be able to make an attack action attack before you flurry, since flurry has to happen immediately after taking the action (as opposed to immediately after your attacks).
It could mean that you simply add two attacks to your total number of attacks that round with the attack action. That's basically how the attack action and other bonus action attacks work, since taking the action and making the attacks don't have to occur at the same time.
What do you guys think? I know how I rule it - just make the attacks whenever and don't worry about it. But it's only now occurred to me that there are many possible interpretations.
Breaking BM: Revised - an updated look at the beast-mounted halfling ranger based on the Revised Ranger: Beast Conclave.
-
2017-11-03,09:08 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #2
Dwarf in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
In my last campaign I played a monk and this came up. The DM and I both settled on just adding in the two flurry attacks wherever I felt like. Doesn't really break anything and it is how other attacks like this work
-
2017-11-03,09:10 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #3
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
I've always played that you have to flurry after you have made at least one attack. If you have multiple attacks it can be between, but it has to be after one.
My mental image of this was always the monk making a strike, and then rapid firing off multiple more strikes against the opponent who is distracted by the first strike.
Pronouns he/him/his
Spoiler: 5e Subclass Contest Wins
● IV-Pinball Wizard
● VI-Luchador Bard
● XIII-Rogue, Tavern Wench
● XV-Monk, Way of the Shrine Guardian
● XVI-Cleric, Madness Domain
● XVIII-Fighter, Chef
● XXI-Artificer, Battling Bowman
● XXV-Ley Line Sorcerer
-
2017-11-03,09:11 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #4
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
This is my guess, but from the name of the feature, "Flurry of Blows," I think it's strongly implied that it's a continuous barrage of attacks. A flurry of blows, in other words.
-
2017-11-03,10:25 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #5
Halfling in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
I can see it being used a couple of ways
1. Attack = opener
2. Flurry of blows = combo
3. Extra attack = finisheror
1. Attack + Extra Attack = opener + start of combo
2. Flurry of blows = rest of combo + finisher
-
2017-11-03,11:15 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #6
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
The wording in the PHB doesn't say so, and all the SA rulings have shown that bonus attacks granted thanks to an attack action occur after the attack action has been completed.Ex. Flurry of Blows, War Magic.
Also, the explanation in War Magic is that it's the attack action that creates the ability to use the Bonus Action, thus the attack must have fully occurred. See below, emphasis mine.
Does the �when� in the Eldritch Knight�s War Magic feature mean the bonus attack comes after you cast the cantrip, or can it come before?
The bonus action comes after the cantrip, since using your action to cast a cantrip is what gives you the ability to make the weapon attack as a bonus action.
Last edited by Mikal; 2017-11-03 at 11:18 AM.
-
2017-11-03,11:21 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #7
Titan in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
Unless a bonus action has a restriction placed on it, it can happen in any order. (That was in a Crawford tweet a couple of years ago). Here is the rules text:
Originally Posted by PHB and Basic Rules
But when it has a limitation or restriction placed on it, follow that limitation or restriction. The timing on this use of a bonus action is specified.Some insights on flurry of blows here.
Mike Mearls, on the other hand, offered that you could move after the initial attack and Flurry when you reached the next target.
Frank Tedeschi @dndiy_ft
@mikemearls Hey Mike! Can a monk move in between his additional unarmed attacks or his Fury of Blows?
Mike Mearls @mikemearls
@dndiy_ft yes
1:57 PM - Oct 28, 2014Last edited by KorvinStarmast; 2017-11-03 at 11:25 AM.
Avatar by linklele. How Teleport Works
a. Malifice (paraphrased):
Rulings are not 'House Rules.' Rulings are a DM doing what DMs are supposed to do.
b. greenstone (paraphrased):
Agency means that they {players} control their character's actions; you control the world's reactions to the character's actions.Gosh, 2D8HP, you are so very correct!
-
2017-11-03,11:44 AM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #8
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
The most common interpretation seems to be: take the attack action, make at least one attack, then you may flurry and use those flurry attacks at any point during your turn. As the ability distinguishes itself with the word "immediately", this interpretation makes sense.
What isn't clear is if "after the attack action" means after declaring the action but before making attacks, after declaring the action and making an attack, or after completing the action.
I wish they'd just said "spend one ki and use your bonus action to make two unarmed strikes." But we all know that 5e can't be simple like that. After all, what about the dreaded (gasp) warlock multiclass!!
Breaking BM: Revised - an updated look at the beast-mounted halfling ranger based on the Revised Ranger: Beast Conclave.
-
2017-11-03,03:46 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #9
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
1.) Attack, Flurry, Extra attack.
2.) Attack, Extra attack, Flurry.
If you were supposed to be able to declare attack action and then flurry, then do the attack action, then the wording and the sage advice are both basically wrong. The responses were specifically in regards to the difference between SM and flurry. Both JC and MM agreed that it has to be after the attack action, ergo different from SM.
So that leaves the options above. I'm inclined to think that option 2 is more internally consistent, as you aren't really "after" the attack action if it is still going on. That would be "during" your attack action, or after your first attack. After your attack action seems pretty clearly after, IMO.
Last edited by PeteNutButter; 2017-11-03 at 04:18 PM.
-
2017-11-03,04:28 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #10
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by PeteNutButter
Breaking BM: Revised - an updated look at the beast-mounted halfling ranger based on the Revised Ranger: Beast Conclave.
-
2017-11-03,04:29 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #11
Barbarian in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Extra Attack makes it clear that the extra attack is part of the attack action "you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn".
So after you've "Taken the Attack Action", that is you've done the attack and extra attack, you can spend your ki right away and make two bonus action attacks.If you want to argue about what take means fine I guess. Make the words mean what is least logical. What exactly are you trying to game where it actually matters? Like it's a one hit difference with Open Hand stuff, who cares?
FWIW Shield Master says "If" you take the attack action not "After"
Last edited by rbstr; 2017-11-03 at 04:39 PM.
-
2017-11-03,04:45 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #12
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
-
2017-11-03,04:52 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #13
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
I treat it as a bonus action that grants two attacks, and that's that. So if I elbow a bad guy and then strike twice with my offhand, it works. If I chug a heal pot and flurry with my offhand, it works. If I Shove with my action, then flurry, punch a foe once, then move 10 feet and punch another foe, it works.
Getting stressed out about that level of rules minutia seems counterproductive to me.
Attacking the darkness since 2009.
Spoiler: Quotes I like
Originally Posted by icefractal regarding What would a Cat Lord want?
Originally Posted by pwykersotz regarding randomly rolling edgelord backstories
-
2017-11-03,04:53 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #14
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Are there any in-game scenarios where this actually matters? I can't think of any.
English isn't my first language, so I will likely express myself poorly.
Please assume that I'm arguing in good faith, and that I mean no offense to anybody.
-
2017-11-03,04:54 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #15
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Lombra
Last edited by PeteNutButter; 2017-11-03 at 05:01 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:01 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #16
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by PeteNutButter
English isn't my first language, so I will likely express myself poorly.
Please assume that I'm arguing in good faith, and that I mean no offense to anybody.
-
2017-11-03,05:02 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #17
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by PeteNutButter
Originally Posted by PeteNutButter
Includes sage advice quote.
Last edited by Easy_Lee; 2017-11-03 at 05:04 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:03 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #18
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Lombra
-
2017-11-03,05:05 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #19
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
I'm aware of the shield master sage advice. I'm also aware of the sage advice that asks if flurry is different from SM, to which the response is a resounding, "yes."
As an aside, I find the SM sage advice to be the problem here, but that's just my opinion.
Last edited by PeteNutButter; 2017-11-03 at 05:07 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:06 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #20
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Lombra
This is part of the reason why "gamey" is such an indefinite term.
Originally Posted by PeteNutButter
Last edited by Easy_Lee; 2017-11-03 at 05:07 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:08 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #21
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
In general, I'd agree that most things in 5e could have been worded better. Telling you have to do something immediately after another is not on the top of my list of poorly worded 5e abilities.
Last edited by PeteNutButter; 2017-11-03 at 05:10 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:15 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #22
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
Last edited by Lombra; 2017-11-03 at 05:17 PM.
English isn't my first language, so I will likely express myself poorly.
Please assume that I'm arguing in good faith, and that I mean no offense to anybody.
-
2017-11-03,05:18 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #23
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by PeteNutButter
Most bonus actions attached to the attack action, not just shield master, use the term "when." Mage Slayer also uses the term "when," as does the fighting style "protection." Mage Slayer comes after the spell trigger. Protection occurs during the attack - after the attack roll but before the damage. The feat Mounted Combatant also interrupts an attack, forcing it to target someone else.
Get my meaning, yet? All kinds of crap interrupts all kinds of other crap in 5e. Taking the attack action doesn't mean making X attacks. It means declaring the action, then the attacks can occur. The order is different. Because the attacks don't occur when you take the action. You take the action, then a bunch of crap can happen, then you get your attacks.
And you didn't address the gsmeyness of my point about unarmed strikes having to happen after, either. Does that feel weird and constricting and unintuitive? Yes. But you're advocating for it anyway because you think words like "when" and "after" mean anything in 5e. They don't. They really, really don't in 5e, because exactly what happens in what order is so firmly up to the DM that it's not even worth arguing about.
I created this thread to get opinions, not to have someone start an argument about one of these words again. You really don't want to go down that rabbit hole. Trust me. Madness waits that way. I have a psychic damage spell named after me because I went too far down that hole.
Last edited by Easy_Lee; 2017-11-03 at 05:19 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:23 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #24
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
Last edited by Lombra; 2017-11-03 at 05:24 PM.
English isn't my first language, so I will likely express myself poorly.
Please assume that I'm arguing in good faith, and that I mean no offense to anybody.
-
2017-11-03,05:27 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #25
Barbarian in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
I dono about that, seems like you're mostly deciding words don't mean things when you don't want them to so you can make a counter-intuitive argument.
If everything else uses "when" (and ShieldMaster clearly does not use "when" it uses "if"), maybe that means there's a difference between it and "after"? Just a guess given "when" implies concurrency while "after" is clearly sequential.
-
2017-11-03,05:29 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #26
Ogre in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
The two basic interpretations are:
1.) Words mean nothing, and the fact that they used the word after, and then backed that up with sage advice is irrelevant.
2.) It means after, is unique for a reason, and therefore it should be after.
Mechanically I think it was on purpose, as they were already aware that open hand monks were going to get the most play, so wanted to limit some of their obvious power.
Last edited by PeteNutButter; 2017-11-03 at 05:31 PM.
-
2017-11-03,05:41 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #27
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
For people who follow the permission slip model, the "immediately" of FoB should be ascribed no significance and the associated Sage Advice should be ignored.
For people who don't follow the permission slip model, there is no problem with a natural reading of "immediately".
Ur-member and coffee caterer of the
fan club.
I wish people would stop using phrases such as "in my humble opinion", "just my two cents", and "we're out of coffee".
Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for they are out drinking coffee and, like, whatever.
-
2017-11-03,08:19 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #28
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
Keep 5e simple, have all attacks (attack rolls) work the same way and don't start adding weird things into it.
Take the attack action and you get two more attacks. At most, the two additional attacks must be against the same target? Nah... Just if you take the attack actions you get two more attacks.
-
2017-11-03,08:24 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #29
Ettin in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Deleted
Breaking BM: Revised - an updated look at the beast-mounted halfling ranger based on the Revised Ranger: Beast Conclave.
-
2017-11-03,09:04 PM (ISO 8601) - Top - End - #30
Bugbear in the Playground
Re: Flurry of Blows
Originally Posted by Easy_Lee
The primary process of 5e was to simplify things and while I think they got away from that in the process of making 5e... The best thing to do is to apply that principal to rules.
Posting Permissions
Source: https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?540930-Flurry-of-Blows
0 Response to "Do You Roll Again for Flurry of Blows"
Postar um comentário